Board of Supervisors

Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors are elected by the public to set policy, establish goals and projects and approve all major expenditures. In the case of the SDSWCD, the Board is also required to investigate sources of income, since the District is not funded by the State of Florida, or by Miami-Dade County. The Board Members are all volunteers, serving our community with no salaries, perks or benefits.

The South Dade Soil & Water Conservation District’s Board of Supervisors meets on the third Thursday of every month at the USDA Florida City Service Center, 1450 North Krome Avenue, Suite 102, Florida City Florida at 9:30 am.

S. Cooper McMillan, Chairman

  • Past Chairman and founding member, Ag Practices Board, Miami-Dade County

  • Family farming in this area beginning in 1918

  • Lychee and Avocado Grower

  • FSA County Committee Community Member

Louise King, Vice-Chairmen (Group 3)

  • Owner of Royal Grove Nursery

  • Tropical Fruit Growers of South Florida Inc. - President

  • Agricultural Recovery Management, Chairman

Dr. Thomas Lee Davenport, Supervisor

  • Research Scientist trained in plant/water relations

  • Well versed in all aspects of plant physiology, Horticulture and Hydrology of Florida

  • Lychee and Avocado Grower

  • Associate Professor Emeritus at University of Florida Tropical Research and Education Center, Homestead, Florida

John C. DeMott, Supervisor

  • Past President, Dade County Chapter, Florida Nursery Growers Association

  • District Representative - Miami-Dade County Agricultural Practices Advisory Board

  • Committee member - National Woody Landscape Plant Crop Germplasm

  • Ornamental horticulture production

  • Aquaculture Production

  • Florida resident since 1951

Marcela Santamaria, Supervisor (Group 1)

  • Owner, Manager and Secretary of Santamaria Nursery for 16 years

  • In 2011, started own business as a liner grower

  • Currently manages 3 sites

  • Bilingual

Comments are closed.